Historic Acworth

The Cherokee Nation lived in the area until the early 1830’s. The Western and Atlantic Railroad began operation in 1845 in Atlanta, bringing progress northward to Northcutt Station, the first northbound water stop on the new track. Joseph Gregg, a railroad engineer, renamed this stop after his hometown of Acworth, New Hampshire. Acworth prospered as a busy trade center and was incorporated as a city in December 1860.

The Civil War brought “The Great Locomotive Chase” through Acworth in April 1862 when James Andrew’s Raiders stole the famous engine, “The General,” in nearby Big Shanty. Sherman was headquartered in Acworth for several days. The town was spared the torch until November 1864; many homes and buildings were burned.

In 1950, Lake Allatoona was completed and it, along with Lake Acworth, created recreational opportunities. Today, Acworth is the center of a thriving, vibrant community.

HISTORIC SITES

Acworth Christian Church

The membership organized this church under the name of Mt. Zion Church of Christ in 1858. After a series of fires over the years, the current structure remains and is one of the five turn‐of‐the‐century churches in Acworth.

Acworth First Baptist Church

The church was built on this site in 1872 but little of the original structure is visible after it’s renovation in 1940.

Acworth Presbyterian Church

Built in 1875 on land donated by banker Smith Lemon, this is Acworth’s oldest religious structure.

Bethel A.M.E. Church

Built in the 1870’s, this is a Romanesque Revival style church.

Collins Funeral Home

This current structure was originally two houses built in the 1880’s and joined in the 1920’s. The Collins Funeral Home has the distinction of being the oldest continuing business in Acworth.

Historic Acworth Walking Tour

Acworth Walking Tour Details Liberty Hill Cemetery: Here, under the moss‐covered headstones and aging oaks, you will find the names of people who once owned homes and businesses in our Historic Acworth Tour. Look for family names such as McEver, Cowen and Lemon, just to…

Lemon House

Built in 1856 by James Lile Lemon, the house served as Sherman’s headquarters in June of 1864. After the battle of Kennesaw Mountain the house was used as a hospital and spared the torch when Union troops burned Acworth in 1864.

Old Mill

This is Acworth’s oldest commercial structure built by John Cowan. It began as a flourmill, then became a tapestry‐weaving mill until a fire in the early 1990’s.

Zion Hill Baptist Church

The church was first organized in 1864, moving to the current location in 1914.

BE IN THE KNOW

STAY IN THE KNOW

Sign-up for email updates!